vita in roma

It would reek of affectation to begin my first entry on my Roman blog with “salvete”, and much as I’d like to, I do so want us to get off on the right foot.  As such, let’s kick things off with a simple “welcome chums” and let me tell you a little about me and my intentions with this thing.

My name’s Sam and, motivated by my secret desire to be a Roman, two weeks ago I made the move to the eternal city with my lovely girlfriend Rose.  Whilst here, I intend to throw myself into the thick of all things ancient and share my condensed thoughts and findings here.  The scope might take in history, literature, archaeology, art, Latin, or anything else you care to name.  And just so I’ve been clear with you from the start, there may well be the occasional posting on where to get an ice cream in modern Rome as well.*

Ah, what the hell, valete.

*It’s my blog, I make the rules.

Leave a Reply

